Exercise 1.2 Point

 

This exercise is about looking at the position of a point in relation to the frame. I’m still not sure if I have actually done this correctly, but my first attempt was taking pictures of the padlock on my garden gate. I found the angles interesting and deliberately played with ‘dodgy’ composition in some of the shots. (I’m not claiming to be an expert on composition, but hopefully its the one piece of prior experience I can bring to the table, as the principles are similar in illustration and graphic design).

Anyway. Problem. I changed the angles, which is not what we where asked to do, and I managed to focus on the wrong elements of the image. Grr!

Here the padlock is a bit too central, but I like the wooden lines leading in.

2016-02-08 13.43.37

Please forgive the blur, the padlock has moved to the right

2016-02-08 13.43.45

Deliberately taking the padlock right into the corner of the shot. Maybe this has potential to weight the image as all about the door being barred and a long way off? But I would generally avoid doing this as I don’t think its ‘good’ composition. In this sense, I think this is the image that most demonstrates having an off balance relationship to the frame.

2016-02-08 13.43.50

Changing the frame to portrait

2016-02-08 13.44.11

I like this angle, there are interesting diagonals, its a shame its not in focus! I feel the frame hugs the image here, and helps create visual tension.

2016-02-08 13.44.40

The next thing I need to address is the really basic problem of taking out of focus images! I’ve now discovered how to turn on ‘Live view”, which should help me understand where the camera is focusing.

I moved inside to simplify my subject matter, and try to take very basic pictures of a single subject, in this case a greetings card.

In terms of The Rule Of Thirds, there are images that sit more comfortably then others. You can see that because everything is horizontal, each image is rather static. On reflection, I should have removed this card from the mantel piece, as the wood forms quite a large part of the image.

This right hand placement, is considered a ‘hot spot’ that the eye is drawn to (in graphic design – I’m assuming photography is the same?) An object on the right can imply its moving to the right, but as I said, this image is pretty static.

2016-02-08 14.30.06

This image can be read as the object has appeared from the left. I f you image a line dropped through the text, its roughly on a third.

2016-02-08 14.30.21

I wouldn’t normally place an object right in the middle, however this is off set a little, by the horizontal division still being in thirds.

I2016-02-08 14.31.06

Not where you’d normally frame a shot! Is this ‘pushing’ against the frame or just a bit off key and not very effective? I’m going to say the latter, it just looks bad!

2016-02-08 14.31.17

All the ‘weight’ is on the bottom right – out of balance, and not in a good way! But if the mantel piece stayed this low, and the card was re-postioned, it could be more interesting.

2016-02-08 14.31.53

 

 

Leave a Reply

